The End of an Era

My EMT-B license officially expired on my birthday, a few days ago. I have been a certified EMT-B since 2008. Some of the greatest moments in my life, my greatest accomplishments, and my greatest friends were made through EMS. It is a part of my life I will never forget and I will forever cherish all the memories.

I was a freshman in college when I became an EMT-B with people who became my best college and lifelong friends. I spent a summer with the Sylvania Township Fire Department and had one of the greatest summers of my life where I got to be on the front lines of emergency medicine and meet some awesome FF/paramedics who helped me get into medical school. I became chief of EMS at John Carroll. and worked with the future doctors of America saving the life of one college kid at a time. I went to Washington DC and Baltimore with my college EMS for the national conferences. And through all of that, I realized that I was meant to spend the rest of my life in medicine. So, here’s to an end of that era.

Some would say I was obsessed with life as an EMT during college, and looking back I definitely was. But it got me the friends I have, and it got me into medical school. And for that, I will never regret that decision!

Thank you to everyone who made it so special! Here are some of the best moments during these years 🙂

EMS Conference in Washington DC

EMS Conference in Washington DC

2938_1053792992722_2337320_n

Relay for Life with the UH Firefighters

EMS Conference in Baltimore

EMS Conference in Baltimore

31297_556795720141_7917265_n

Prior Chief and Best EMS/Nurse

39886_480115649912_1648965_n

JCU EMS at Relay for Life

205119_1005773149695_5337_n

JCU EMS

34590_1507434253336_6045975_n

Chief, Assistant Chief, and Deputy Chief!

Chief, Assistant Chief, and Deputy Chief!

2011 JCU EMS Seniors

2011 JCU EMS Seniors

The CCF EMT instructors

The CCF EMT instructors

My EMT-B Class at the Cleveland Clinic!

My EMT-B Class at the Cleveland Clinic!

1930292_29340527572_1675_n

A fantastic life moment.

My FAVORITE Fire Dept Shift!

My FAVORITE Fire Dept Shift!

Snapchat-534

The place where I lived during college.

 

One thought on “The End of an Era

Leave a Reply

